[post_title] => Science [post_excerpt] => [post_status] => publish [comment_status] => closed [ping_status] => closed [post_password] => [post_name] => science [to_ping] => [pinged] => [post_modified] => 2022-06-10 12:12:43 [post_modified_gmt] => 2022-06-10 16:12:43 [post_content_filtered] => [post_parent] => 4126 [guid] => https://www.gewex.org/?post_type=project&p=4137 [menu_order] => 1 [post_type] => project [post_mime_type] => [comment_count] => 0 [filter] => raw ) ) -->
  • Home
  • Science
  • News & Events
  • Contact


A Regional Hydroclimate Initiative for the Andes


The ANDEX foundation meeting in December 2017, has been attended by a group of eight scientists from Andean countries working in climate and hydrology of this mountain range, plus three representatives from GEWEX:

  • German Poveda; Universidad Nacional de Colombia, Medellin – Colombia
  • René Garreaud, Universidad de Chile, Santiago – Chile
  • Paola Arias; Universidad de Antioquia, Medellin – Colombia
  • Jhan Carlo Espinoza; Institut de Recherche pour le Développement, Grenoble – France
  • Mariano Masiokas; IANIGLIA, Mendoza – Argentina
  • Jorge Molina; Universidad Mayor San Andrés, La Paz – Bolivia
  • Daniel Pabón; CIIFEN, Guayaquil – Ecuador
  • Silvina Solman; Universidad de Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires – Argentina
  • Peter J. van Oevelen; International GEWEX Project Office, Washington DC- USA

GEWEX Hydroclimatology Panel (GHP):

  • Francina Domenguez; University of Illinois, Champaign, ILL, USA (co-chair GEWEX GHP Panel)
  • Ali Nazemi; Concordia University, Montreal, QC, Canada (co-chair GEWEX GHP Panel)

At 2017 meeting it was decided that Germán Poveda and René Garreaud will act as ANDEX first term Co-chairs (2018-2022). In 2022, Jhan Carlo Espinoza and Mariano Masiokas were appointed as new co-chairs for the coming term.

Participants recognized the importance of developing a White Book and have distributed the leadership of its nine chapters among the attending scientists.A group of eight lead authors of the white book represent a de-facto steering committee for ANDEX.