Scientific Steering Group

The GEWEX Scientific Steering Group (SSG) guides the formation of GEWEX’s scientific program, and is comprised of scientists from across the world who study issues related to the global water and energy cycles. In addition to monitoring and shaping the course for GEWEX, the SSG briefs the Joint Steering Committee of our parent organization, WCRP, on progress made within GEWEX and general advances in understanding in our areas of scientific expertise.

Information on current and past SSG meetings can be found at

Scientific Steering Group (SSG)

SSC MembersOrganizationYear of Appointment

Jan Polcher (Co-Chair)

Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS) Laboratoire de Météorologie Dynamique, Institut Pierre Simon Laplace (IPSL)

Palaiseau Cedex, France |


Xubin Zeng (Co-Chair)
Climate Dynamics and Hydrometeorology Center University of Arizona

Tucson, AZ, USA |


Myoung-Hwan Ahn
Department of Climate and Energy Systems Engineering EWHA Womans University

Seoul, Republic of Korea |


Gianpaolo Balsamo
Coupled Processes, Earth System Model (CP/ESM) European Centre for Medium-range Weather Forecasts (ECMWF)

Reading, UK |


Michael G. Bosilovich
Global Modeling and Assimilation Office NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center

Greenbelt, Maryland USA |


Susanne Crewell
Institute for Geophysics and Meteorology, University of Cologne and Center for Earth System Observation and Computational Analysis (CESOC)

Cologne, Germany |


Qingyun Duan
College of Hydrology and Water Resources Hohai University

Beijing, China |


Benjamin Lamptey
Suez Consulting Company

Ghana |


L. Ruby Leung
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL)

Richland, WA, U.S.A. |


Linda Mearns
National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR)

Boulder, CO, USA |


Maria Piles Guillem
Universitat de València

València, Spain |


Anna Stewart Ibarra
Inter-American Institute for Global Change Research (IAI)

Montevideo, Uruguay |


Zhongbo (Bob) Su
Faculty of Geo-Information Science and Earth Observation (ITC) University of Twente

Enschede, The Netherlands |


Former Scientific Steering Group (SSG)

SSC MembersOrganizationPeriod of Appointment

Lisa Alexander
Climate Change Research Centre University of New South Wales

Sydney NSW, Australia |

2015 – 2018

Paul Dirmeyer
Department of Atmospheric, Oceanic and Earth Sciences George Mason University

Fairfax, VA, USA |


Gabi Hegerl
School of GeoSciences, University of Edinburgh

Edinburgh, Schotland |


Branka Ivankan-Picek
Meteorological and Hydrological Service

Zagreb, Croatia |


Christian Jakob
School of Earth, Atmosphere, and Environment Monash University

Clayton (VIC), Australia |


Nathalie de Noblet-Ducoudré
Le Laboratoire des Sciences du Climat et de l'Environnement

Gif-sur-Yvette, France |

2015 – 2018

Germán Poveda
Department of Geosciences and Environment Universidad Nacional de Colombia

Medellín, Colombia |


Sonia I. Seneviratne (former Co-Chair)
Institute for Atmospheric and Climate Science ETH Zurich, Land-Climate Dynamics

Zurich, Switzerland |

2014 – 2018

B.J. Sohn
School of Earth and Environmental Science Seoul National University

Seoul, South Korea |


Graeme Stephens (former Co-Chair)
Center for Climate Sciences NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory

Pasadena, CA, USA |

Co-chair 2014–2021
member 2021–2022

Remko Uijlenhoet (former Chair)
Hydrology and Quantitative Water Management Group Department of Environmental Sciences Wageningen University

The Netherlands |

2014 – 2018 ?>