Scientific Steering Group

The GEWEX Scientific Steering Group (SSG) guides the formation of GEWEX’s scientific program, and is comprised of scientists from across the world who study issues related to the global water and energy cycles. In addition to monitoring and shaping the course for GEWEX, the SSG briefs the Joint Steering Committee of our parent organization, WCRP, on progress made within GEWEX and general advances in understanding in our areas of scientific expertise.

Information on current and past SSG meetings can be found at GEWEXevents.org.


Scientific Steering Group (SSG)

SSC MembersOrganizationYear of Appointment

Graeme Stephens
Co-Chair, GEWEX SSG

Director, Center for Climate Sciences

NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory



Pasadena, CA, USA | Graeme.Stephens@jpl.nasa.gov

2014


Jan Polcher
Co-Chair, GEWEX SSG

Director of Research, Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS)

Laboratoire de Météorologie Dynamique, Institut Pierre Simon Laplace (IPSL)



Palaiseau Cedex, France | jan.polcher@lmd.jussieu.fr

2018


Gianpaolo Balsamo
Senior Scientist and Team Leader

Coupled Processes, Earth System Model (CP/ESM)

European Centre for Medium-range Weather Forecasts (ECMWF)



Reading, UK | gianpaolo.balsamo@ecmwf.int

2017


Michael G. Bosilovich
Scientist

Global Modeling and Assimilation Office

NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center



Greenbelt, Maryland USA | michael.g.bosilovich@nasa.gov

2017


Paul Dirmeyer
Department of Atmospheric, Oceanic and Earth Sciences

George Mason University



Fairfax, VA, USA | pdirmeye@gmu.edu

2017


Qingyun Duan
Institute of Land Surface System Science and Sustainable Development

Faculty of Geographical Science

Beijing Normal University



Beijing, China | qyduan@bnu.edu.cn

2018


Christian Jakob
Professor of Climate Modelling

School of Earth, Atmosphere, and Environment

Monash University


Clayton (VIC), Australia | christian.jakob@monash.edu

2019


Branka Ivankan-Picek
Head of the Research and Development Division

Meteorological and Hydrological Service



Zagreb, Croatia | picek@cirus.dhz.hr

2017


Germán Poveda
Department of Geosciences and Environment

Universidad Nacional de Colombia



Medellín, Colombia | gpoveda@unal.edu.co

2015


B.J. Sohn
School of Earth and Environmental Science Seoul National University

Seoul, South Korea | sohn@snu.ac.kr

2018


Zhongbo (Bob) Su
Chair of Spatial Hydrology and Water Resources Management,

Faculty of Geo-Information Science and Earth Observation (ITC)

University of Twente

Enschede, The Netherlands | z.su@utwente.nl

2019


Former Scientific Steering Group (SSG)

SSC MembersOrganizationPeriod of Appointment

Lisa Alexander
Senior Lecturer Climate Change Research Centre University of New South Wales

Sydney NSW, Australia | l.alexander@unsw.edu.au

2015 – 2018


Nathalie de Noblet-Ducoudré
Le Laboratoire des Sciences du Climat et de l'Environnement

Gif-sur-Yvette, France | nathalie.de-noblet@lsce.ipsl.fr

2015 – 2018


Remko Uijlenhoet
Chair, Hydrology and Quantitative Water Management Group

Department of Environmental Sciences

Wageningen University



The Netherlands | Remko.Uijlenhoet@wur.nl

2014 – 2018

 
https://www.gewex.org/gewex-admin?action=logout&_wpnonce=d1803a8eba ?>