Scientific Steering Group

The GEWEX Scientific Steering Group (SSG) guides the formation of GEWEX’s scientific program, and is comprised of scientists from across the world who study issues related to the global water and energy cycles. In addition to monitoring and shaping the course for GEWEX, the SSG briefs the Joint Steering Committee of our parent organization, WCRP, on progress made within GEWEX and general advances in understanding in our areas of scientific expertise.


Scientific Steering Group (SSG)

SSC MembersOrganizationYear of Appointment

Graeme Stephens
Co-Chair, GEWEX SSG

Director, Center for Climate Sciences

NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory



Pasadena, CA, USA | Graeme.Stephens@jpl.nasa.gov
2014

Sonia Seneviratne
Co-Chair, GEWEX SSG

Associate Professor, Land-Climate Dynamics

Institute for Atmospheric and Climate Science

ETH Zurich



Zurich, Switzerland | sonia.seneviratne@env.ethz.ch
2014

Lisa Alexander
Senior Lecturer

Climate Change Research Centre

University of New South Wales



Sydney NSW, Australia | l.alexander@unsw.edu.au
2015

Richard O. Anyah
Assistant Professor, Atmospheric Science

Department of Natural Resources and the Environment

University of Connecticut



Storrs, Connecticut | richard.anyah@uconn.edu
2013

Gianpaolo Balsamo
Senior Scientist and Team Leader

Coupled Processes, Earth System Model (CP/ESM)

European Centre for Medium-range Weather Forecasts (ECMWF)



Reading, UK | gianpaolo.balsamo@ecmwf.int
2017

Michael G. Bosilovich
Scientist

Global Modeling and Assimilation Office

NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center



Greenbelt, Maryland USA | michael.g.bosilovich@nasa.gov
2017

Branka Ivankan-Picek
Head of the Research and Development Division

Meteorological and Hydrological Service



Zagreb, Croatia | picek@cirus.dhz.hr
2017

Nathalie de Noblet-Ducoudré
Le Laboratoire des Sciences du Climat
et de l'Environnement



Gif-sur-Yvette, France | nathalie.de-noblet@lsce.ipsl.fr
2015

Germán Poveda
Department of Geosciences and Environment

Universidad Nacional de Colombia



Medellín, Colombia | gpoveda@unal.edu.co
2015

Remko Uijlenhoet
Chair, Hydrology and Quantitative Water Management Group

Department of Environmental Sciences

Wageningen University



The Netherlands | Remko.Uijlenhoet@wur.nl
2014

Peter Webster
School of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences

Georgia Institute of Technology



Atlanta, Georgia, USA | pjw@eas.gatech.edu
2015
 
?>