Scientific Steering Group

The GEWEX Scientific Steering Group (SSG) guides the formation of GEWEX’s scientific program, and is comprised of scientists from across the world who study issues related to the global water and energy cycles. In addition to monitoring and shaping the course for GEWEX, the SSG briefs the Joint Steering Committee of our parent organization, WCRP, on progress made within GEWEX and general advances in understanding in our areas of scientific expertise.

Information on current and past SSG meetings can be found at GEWEXevents.org.


Scientific Steering Group (SSG)

SSC MembersOrganizationYear of Appointment

Graeme Stephens
Co-Chair, GEWEX SSG

Director, Center for Climate Sciences

NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory



Pasadena, CA, USA | Graeme.Stephens@jpl.nasa.gov

2014


Jan Polcher
Co-Chair, GEWEX SSG

Director of Research, Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS)

Laboratoire de Météorologie Dynamique, Institut Pierre Simon Laplace (IPSL)



Palaiseau Cedex, France | jan.polcher@lmd.jussieu.fr

2018


Gianpaolo Balsamo
Member

Coupled Processes, Earth System Model (CP/ESM)
European Centre for Medium-range Weather Forecasts (ECMWF)

Reading, UK | gianpaolo.balsamo@ecmwf.int

2017


Michael G. Bosilovich
Member

Global Modeling and Assimilation Office
NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center

Greenbelt, Maryland USA | michael.g.bosilovich@nasa.gov

2017


Paul Dirmeyer
Member

Department of Atmospheric, Oceanic and Earth Sciences
George Mason University

Fairfax, VA, USA | pdirmeye@gmu.edu

2017


Qingyun Duan
Member

College of Hydrology and Water Resources
Hohai University

Beijing, China | qyduan@hhu.edu.cn

2018


Gabi Hegerl
Member

School of GeoSciences,
University of Edinburgh

Edinburgh, Schotland | gabi.hegerl@ed.ac.uk

2019


Branka Ivankan-Picek
Member

Meteorological and Hydrological Service

Zagreb, Croatia | picek@cirus.dhz.hr

2017


Christian Jakob
Member

School of Earth, Atmosphere, and Environment
Monash University

Clayton (VIC), Australia | christian.jakob@monash.edu

2019


Germán Poveda
Member

Department of Geosciences and Environment
Universidad Nacional de Colombia

Medellín, Colombia | gpoveda@unal.edu.co

2015


B.J. Sohn
Member

School of Earth and Environmental Science
Seoul National University

Seoul, South Korea | sohn@snu.ac.kr

2018


Zhongbo (Bob) Su
Member

Faculty of Geo-Information Science and Earth Observation (ITC)
University of Twente

Enschede, The Netherlands | z.su@utwente.nl

2019


Former Scientific Steering Group (SSG)

SSC MembersOrganizationPeriod of Appointment

Lisa Alexander
Senior Lecturer Climate Change Research Centre University of New South Wales

Sydney NSW, Australia | l.alexander@unsw.edu.au

2015 – 2018


Nathalie de Noblet-Ducoudré
Le Laboratoire des Sciences du Climat et de l'Environnement

Gif-sur-Yvette, France | nathalie.de-noblet@lsce.ipsl.fr

2015 – 2018


Sonia I. Seneviratne
Co-Chair
Institute for Atmospheric and Climate Science ETH Zurich, Land-Climate Dynamics

sonia.seneviratne@ethz.ch

2014 – 2018


Remko Uijlenhoet
Chair
Hydrology and Quantitative Water Management Group Department of Environmental Sciences Wageningen University

The Netherlands | Remko.Uijlenhoet@wur.nl

2014 – 2018

 
https://www.gewex.org/wp-login.php?action=logout&_wpnonce=fa4ae02c8d ?>